## **Eureka Township** Dakota County State of Minnesota

Special Eureka Townboard Meeting to Appoint the Planning Commission. April 30, 2003

## Call to Order:

Chair Don Pflaum called the Special meeting of Eureka Township to order at 7:07 PM. Present were Supervisors Don Pflaum, Dan Rogers, Kenny Miller, Connie Anderson, Mark Malecha and Treasurer Nanett Leine.

Meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **Planning Commission Applicants:**

The following people applied for the Planning Commission: Francie Madden, Charles Hansen, Cheryl Monson, Dan Storlie, Mike Greco, Calvin Pflaum and Cory Behrendt. Amy Nielson and Candy Karlsen also applied, but withdrew their applications before the meeting. Dan Storlie was unable to attend the meeting.

A letter of concern had been submitted on the motion made at the April 15, 2003 Townboard meeting.

Supervisor Mark Malecha and Supervisor Kenny Miller clarified the motion made at the April 15<sup>th</sup> Townboard meeting, which read as follows. ...*This motion also will also allow residents of the Township to submit accusations or adulations to Clerk/Treasurer Nanett Leine to be considered in the interview process*...*A friendly amendment by Supervisor Kenny Miller: the input from the people of the Township as a written letter as qualifications of the applicants be taken and reviewed by the Townboard members only.* 

. Any applicant that received a letter about their self would have access for reviewal. One letter of support for applicants was received by Greg Gudbjartsson.

Chair Don Pflaum stated he will rescind himself from the application review process, when Calvin Pflaum is interviewed.

The appointment process was discussed. There are 5 positions open for appointment:

1-1 year term.

2-2 year terms.

2-3 year terms.

Candidates were interviewed in the order listed above.

Each candidate was asked 5 questions compiled by the Townboard prior to the meeting. All the candidates received the questions prior to the interview process, so they would be familiar with the questions asked. An additional question was asked to all candidates: Would you feel comfortable with any of the positions?

When the interview process was complete each board member chose the five applicants they felt would best serve the Townboard as Planning Commission members. This was done by secret ballot.

Clerk/Treasurer Nanett Leine tallied the votes. Supervisor Don Pflaum withdrew from voting process to avoid any conflict of interest.

The following applicants were chosen to serve as Planning Commission members: Francie Madden, Charles Hansen, Cheryl Monson, Calvin Pflaum and Cory Behrendt.

Chair Don Pflaum withdrew himself from the meeting. Supervisor Kenny Miller continued the meeting.

A motion by Supervisor Mark Malecha: To nominate Francie Madden for a 3 year term, Charles Hansen for a 3 year term, Cheryl Monson of a 2 year term, Calvin Pflaum for a 2 year term and Corey Behrendt for a 1 year term. Motion seconded by Supervisor Connie Anderson for discussion purpose. After discussion Mark Malecha withdrew his motion.

A motion by Supervisor Mark Malecha: To nominate Francie Madden, Charles Hansen, Cheryl Monson, Calvin Pflaum and Cory Behrendt as members of the Planning Commission. Motion seconded by Supervisor Connie Anderson. Motion carried unanimously.

Calvin Pflaum offered to fill the 1 year position.

A motion by Supervisor Mark Malecha: That each supervisor submits a written vote for positions and Clerk/Treasurer Nanett Leine will tally the votes. Motion seconded by Supervisor Connie Anderson. Motion carried.

Supervisors selected 2 people for 3 yr position by secret ballot.

Votes were tallied. Francie Madden and Cory Behrendt were chosen for the 3 year term.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: To appoint Calvin Pflaum for the 1 year term. Cheryl Monson and Charles Hansen for 2 the year terms. Motion seconded by Supervisor Mark Malecha. Supervisor Connie Anderson amended her motion to read:

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: To appoint Calvin Pflaum to the 1 year term from May 1, 2003 to April 30, 2004. To appoint Charles Hansen and Cheryl Monson as the two candidates for the 2 year terms from May 1, 2003 to April 30, 2005. To appoint Corey Behrendt and Francie Madden for the 3 year terms from May 1, 2003 to April 30, 2006. Motion seconded by Supervisor Mark Malecha. Motion carried. Chair Don Pflaum attained from voting.

Chair Don Pflaum took back the chair position.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: Planning commission meetings will start at 7:00 pm to be consistent with the Townboard meetings for the year 2003 to 2004. Motion seconded by Supervisor Kenny Miller. Motion carried.

Planning Commission procedures were discussed. Each planning commission member will receive a new ordinance book.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: Chair Don Pflaum will draft a letter thanking the past Planning Commission members for their service. Motion seconded by Supervisor Mark Malecha. Motion carried.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: To adjourn. Motion seconded by Supervisor Kenny Miller. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:04 pm.