# Eureka Township

## Dakota County State of Minnesota

Special Eureka Townboard Meeting to Appoint the Non Conforming "Land Use" committee Lee Slavicek-Split Approval

May 5, 2003

#### Call to Order:

Chair Don Pflaum called the Special meeting of Eureka Township to order at 8:07 PM. Present were Supervisors Don Pflaum, Dan Rogers, Kenny Miller, Connie Anderson, Mark Malecha and Treasurer Nanett Leine.

Meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

## Split Approval- Lee Slavicek

The Townboard granted Mr. Slavicek a building permit at the April 12, 2003 Townboard meeting. It was over looked that a split approval was needed for the property involved. Mr. Slavicek requested a split for the property owned by Pool Family Ltd. Partnership. Parcel B: North 527.8 feet of East 330.10 feet of Northwest quarter of the Southeast quarter of Section 10, consisting of 4 acres, to be split from Parcel A: 80 acres located in the W ½ of the SE ¼ of SECTION 10 TWN 113 RANGE 20. Robert Pool is the owner of the property and needs to sign the split request.

A motion by Supervisor Kenny Miller: To approve the lot split contingent on the signature of the owner Robert Pool, notarized or in the presence of the Eureka Town Clerk. Due to closing deadlines/time frame: this approval is a matter of exception, not to set precedence for future split approvals. Motion seconded by Supervisor Mark Malecha. Motion carried.

### Non Conforming "Land Use" Committee

A seven person committee: To review Ordinance 32 to ascertain whether it requires any revisions or amendments.

The following people applied for the Committee: Carrie Jennings, Mark Geier, Philip Cleminson, Terri Petter, Kelly Brosseth, Don Storlie, Gary Smith, Ken Olstad, Mark Emond and Edward O'Brien.

Edward O'Brien applied after the deadline of May 1. The Townboard considered his application. The consensus of the board was that Mr. O'Brien would not be considered in the application process. Both the newspaper and the newsletter stated the application deadline date.

The Townboard was presented with the applicants' letters of interest before the meeting. There were 6 applicants present: Carrie Jennings, Mark Geier, Philip Cleminson, Don Storlie, Ken Olstad and Mark Emond. Each applicant was interviewed.

The Townboard questioned, whether applicants not present for the interview process should be considered in appointments to the committee. After discussion and audience comments, it was decided that all applicants would be considered. Mr. Emond's application would be accepted and he was granted an interview.

A motion by Supervisor Kenny Miller: To vote of the 10 names before the board, each board member to pick 7 out of 10. The top 7 would be appointed to the committee. Motion seconded by Supervisor Connie Anderson. Motion carried.

Board members submitted their 7 choices by written ballot. There were 4 four members' appointed, and 4 tied votes. They then choice their top 3 candidates from the tied votes.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: To accept Carrie Jennings, Don Storlie, Edward O'Brien, Mark Geier, Kelly Brosseth, Mark Emond and Ken Olstad to the task force, as stated in Ordinance 33 to review Ordinance 32 to ascertain whether it requires any revisions or amendments. Motion seconded by Supervisor Dan Rogers. Motion carried.

Each task force member will be issued Ordinance No. 32.

The Task Force Organizational meeting will be Monday May 12, 2003 at 6:00pm at the Eureka Townhall. The chair will be selected, to be appointed at the May 12, 2003 Townboard meeting.

A motion by Supervisor Connie Anderson: To adjourn. Motion seconded by Supervisor Kenny Miller. Motion carried.